Our Fragile Mortality

I wrote instructions for my funeral today.

I don’t plan on it being soon. But one thing your death has pointed out to me is that if you don’t leave behind instructions, ideas or preferences, your bereaved have to work out what they might be, all whilst dealing with their grief. So I put pen to paper, after thinking about doing so for weeks. I feel relieved and peaceful.

I had to put Maroon 5 down, sorry. But one of our songs is in there (Snow Patrol). You’re such a huge part of my life that I need that acknowledged, and this is nice and subtle. You’d be squirming now, and not really believing it to be true. You occupy my thoughts constantly still, SM. Get used to it.

I’ve decided on my memorial to you. Watch this space x

Leave a Reply

